Back from my rest week: Where did Periodization come from?


Tudor BompaHurray, I’m back to working out again! Well, I didn’t really take a break, but I’ll admit that rest and recover weeks feel like an ordeal to me. I love getting out there and being active and so I literally have to force myself to slow down for my recovery weeks. Taper is even harder, since I’m so mentally prepared for the race, but I don’t have to worry about that for several months.

Some of you may wonder what all my talk of recover weeks, prep, base 1, and base 2 are all about. Of course I’m sure you’ve heard of the concept of periodization, and you may even be using a training plan or schedule that has some form of periodization built in to it. But where does the concept come from, and why do so many athletes utilize it in their training program? Or you may just be wondering who this old guy is in the picture… if so, keep reading.

(Read the rest of this article on ZappoMan.com…)

2 Responses to “Back from my rest week: Where did Periodization come from?”

  1. lsabin Says:

    I know it’s tough to slow down and recover. It’s exciting to keep pushing towards your goal. I’ll bet you are feeling refreshed and ready to work hard, now that you had the break.

  2. Jim Says:

    so is periodization the best training method for serious sportsmen?

Leave a Reply

