Week 8 Report – Base 1 Done… time for a rest week!


Week 8 Workout DistributionWeek 8 Complete – Whew! I’m finally done with Base 1… This last week was really hard. First of all 16 hours of training. That’s not the most I’ve done in a week, but it felt like a lot with all the other things I’ve got going on. Second, speaking of things going on, this week started out with 3 days “vacation”… which was actually pretty stressful for me, as it meant adapting my training schedule around the vacation, and it put a cramp in getting work done which meant more pressure on the training schedule. I wasn’t sure how I was going to make it Thursday night, but it all worked out in the end. Like last week, I am being particularly aware of trying to keep in a nice low to mid effort base zone, so although there is a lot of volume of hours the work effort in each session has been low. That being said, I was pretty tired last night, and this weeks rest/recovery week couldn’t have come at a better time.

Thursday night, I was doubtful I was going to be able to make my required training for the week, so I had to sit down and make a weekend game plan. I had to complete 9 hours over the weekend. A couple long rides, a couple of runs, some swimming, and a strength session with my buddy Tyler made everything workout. The highlight was clearly the Chilly Hilly.

Here are the details for this week…

(Read the rest of this article on ZappoMan.com…)

One Response to “Week 8 Report – Base 1 Done… time for a rest week!”

  1. lsabin Says:

    Nice job! I’ll bet your legs are fried. I know the hill you are talking about. It’s a tough one. I was glad to be a whimp this year and skip the ride!

Leave a Reply

