What is Fitness?


So here’s an interesting question, what is fitness? Really… I mean, I am probably pretty fit by many definitions. But the truth is there are so many different ways to be fit. To live a fit life, to have a level of fitness.

Today, these days, lately, recently… (I’m not sure how to describe it)… I have decided that long distance triathlon is the “thing” I am personally most interested in. My fitness goals should therefore be geared toward doing “well” in that event… how ever I define well. Do I want to finish? Do I want to finish in a particular time? Do I want to do better in some portion of the race that a past performance. These are all decisions I must make in order to make my fitness appropriate to my goals. Once I’ve made those decisions, then I need to develop (and execute) against a training plan to improve those areas of fitness.

Hopefully in this process, I won’t lose sight of the fact that fitness is more than a race or a particular “tuning” goal, but fitness is a life attitude that you can take to any new adventure and apply your skills of tuning your fitness to be “task appropriate”.

(Read the rest of this article on ZappoMan.com…)

Leave a Reply

