Training while traveling… you have to work for it!


I used to travel a lot more. Last year I traveled on business from Seattle to New York at least once a month. From June to November I spent at least 1 week a month on the road, and many months I spent more than 2 weeks on business travel. Needless to say, this wasn’t easy in general, and it was really hard considering I was preparing for my first Ironman distance triathlon.

Fortunately I had a great Executive Assistant who knew my need for a good fitness center, and I had several friends and co-workers who were also into fitness, so I could often find a running partner or someone who’d lend me a gym pass. But the fact of the matter is, that if you want to exercise while you are a heavy travel (for business or pleasure) you have to put at least another 50% effort into your travel planning and your fitness planning to find a way to make everything workout.

(Read the rest of this article on ZappoMan.com…)

2 Responses to “Training while traveling… you have to work for it!”

  1. Eric Says:

    I’m going to be in Cancun for a week, starting Saturday. I’m packing my running gear, so I’m hopping to log at least 20 miles when I’m there, but it may be harder than I think. Especially after a full day of being in the sun, snorkeling and running around. After sitting inside in a chair looking at a computer screen all day, that kind of day seems to take a lot out of you.

  2. Aberdeen Airport Car Rental Says:

    Getting out of the hotel room when not in meetings is the hard part, it looks like your assistant is a god send

Leave a Reply

