Total Immersion Drills 1-4 – Triathlon Swimming: Made Easy (part 3)


Total Immersion - Triathlon Swimming: Made Easy - by Terry Laughlin A couple weeks ago, I wrote a couple of entries about a swimming technique called “Total Immersion”. You can read my entries here and here. I am a big believer in the efficacy of this swimming technique. Although there are many things I’d like to improve about my swimming (like swimming faster), I am very pleased with the fact that when I swim I a swim comfortably and relatively effortlessly.

As a long distance triathlete, this skill is critical to a successful race. My goal, whenever I swim, is to do as little work as possible in traveling the greatest distance. Well, let’s be honest, my first goal is to not drown… and then… assuming things go well in that department, get done with the swim so I can kick some ass on the bike and run. My strategy to accomplish these goals, is to make the swim as effortless as possible. Total Immersion changed my life (with respect to swimming) and has made, at least for me, this goal possible.

In my last couple posts, I wrote about the philosophy, theory and technique of Total Immersion. In this post, I plan to describe briefly some of the drills used to learn and practice Total Immersion. If you want to know more about Total Immersion, I strongly recommend purchasing one of the many great books by Terry Laughlin, the inventor of Total Immersion. So, if the information I have presented here sounds interesting to you, please go buy one of the Total Immersion books, or sign up for one of the many courses that Total Immersion offers around the country.

(more on ZappoMan.com…)

5 Responses to “Total Immersion Drills 1-4 – Triathlon Swimming: Made Easy (part 3)”

  1. RegiVizz Says:

    I could be a triathlete…if only they allowed arm floaties! šŸ™‚
    I applaud you!

  2. zappoman Says:

    RegiVizz, for what it’s worth, everyone who does triathlon is at least a little nervous about the swim, even the elite athletes… Honestly though, Total Immersion will teach you how to be more comfortable in the water… and if it’s cold enough to wear a wetsuit, then you’re practically already wearing floaties…

  3. karlmccracken Says:

    Oddly enough, I had just that conversation today about wetsuits replacing floaties. . . am now looking at outdoor events with positive enthusiasm . . .

  4. Cordless Drill Says:

    The best feature of my drill is the keyless chuck and adjustable torque setting. I also enjoy the fast charger and backup battery.

  5. blood glucose test Says:

    I feel more persons need to read this, quite beneficial info.

Leave a Reply

