I’m still here… just really busy…


I’ve been mentioning lately that I need to find how to balance my work, training, family, and blogging… well, I’m proud to say that this week I’ve been having to prioritize, and I think I’ve landed in the right place… at least for this week.

Sorry to say, that blogging, got the short end of the stick.

I miss you guys, but just so you don’t feel left out, here’s what you were competing against: work, lots of it… very productive week actually. Training… this week was my first week in Base 1, so that means increase volume of training (although keeping intensity moderate to low)… my plan said 12 hours… I’ve had some good long bike rides (in the rain); I switched out my pedals on my fixie to be my spd-sl clip less, now I may never go back to gears… I’ve had some good swims (Karl, I owe you a write up on TI drills, I spent an hour just on drills and I have some thoughts about sinking and how to work toward preventing it); I’ve cut back on my running because I have a sneaky feeling that I pushed too hard last week…. I have 7 hrs so far this week, which sounds like I’m on target right? 3 more days, no problem… problem is…

This weekend I’ve got a big Y-Guides camping weekend. My oldest daughter and I are going camping with a bunch of her friends from first grade and their dads. So, good news is, that’s some great family time, and it will be a blast, I’m sure… but it means trying to cram in extra work before the weekend, and extra training, since I’m going to lose at least one day, if not two…

 Anyway, I’ll be back in a couple days… 

 In the mean time, here are some great quotes I found recently about cycling:

“The bicycle is a curious vehicle. Its passenger is its engine.” – John Howard

“Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. It has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives a woman a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel … the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood.” – Susan B. Anthony, Equal rights activist, New York World, Feb 2, 1896.

“Cyclists are open-minded. Cyclists are egalitarian. Cyclists share a fellowship of the wheel that can overcome all political, social, racial and economic barriers. Except for recumbents.” – Ted Costantino, cycling journalist

“I believe in bicycles. I believe in riding my bike to the store, riding to work, riding for fun, fitness and adventure–road bikes, mountain bikes, single-speeds–you name it. As long as it has two wheels and a human motor, I’m on it. And I truly believe, deep down in my easily misdirected soul, that the world would be a better place if more people rode bicycles.” — Don Cuerdon, cycling journalist who uses the pen name “Captain Dondo”

One Response to “I’m still here… just really busy…”

  1. Solo Says:

    I popped across to see how you were doing and love the cycling quotes!
    We’re going to start sounding like zealots of cycling! 🙂

    Guess there’s worse things to be known for *chuckling*

    Hope you and daughter have a fabulous weekend!

    – Solo xx

Leave a Reply

