Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises


Running Legs

I mentioned that my Physical Therapist gave me some pointers on a pre-running flexibility routine which she called the “Dynamic Warm Up”. The basic idea of the routine is to do some basic leg stretches while moving/walking. I have used this routine now a couple times, and for me it’s been a useful routine to stretch and warm up as I walk the 3 blocks from my house to the trail that I run a basic out and back route on.

Here’s my description of this routine.

Do each of the following sets for about 30 seconds to 1 minute. Remember to keep good posture and think about the motions and technique of each movement.

Heel Walking: This is pretty obvious. Walk on your heels. Pay particular attention to not have your forefoot touch the ground. You should feel a good stretch in your calf muscles.

Toe Walking: Again, obvious. Walk on your toes, taking care to not touch your heels to the ground. You should feel a good stretch in your shins and the tops of your feet.

Front Grabs: Walk forward lifting your forward moving leg up high to your chest. Grab the front of your lower leg and pull your knee up to your chest. Alternate each leg with each step. You should feel a nice quad stretch.

Twist Grabs: Similar to Front Grabs, but pull your shin toward your chest rotating your knee outward. You should feel a glute stretch.

Hurtle Steps: Good warm up for your hip flexors, groin, and glute. As you take each step swing your leg up and out as if stretching it over an imaginary hurdle at the side of your body.

Skip: You know… just like when you were a kid! 🙂 It might look funny, but it’s good for you.

Forward Lunge: Do a forward lunge with each step. Feel the stretch in your hip flexor for the back leg and a slight stretch in the quad of your front leg.

Strides: Take short running strides focused on proper technique. Remember good trunk rotation, stride length, and speed.

Grape Vines: Running side-ways; start with right foot forward, left foot back; bring left foot forward toward the front of the right foot (heel of left foot passes in front of toes of right foot); step right foot forward; then bring left foot forward, this time behind the right foot (toes of left foot pass behind heel of right foot). Do this for 30 seconds, then face other direction and repeat leading with left foot.

Butt Kicks: Run with with exaggerated knee bend such that back of lower leg kicks back of hip and heel touches your glutes.

Happy Running.

Oh yeah, one final note. I was looking for additional documentation on this routine, and although I didn’t find any, I did find this additional reference to a set of Isometric Exercises for runners.

http://www.simplefitnesssolutions.com/products/runner.htm

37 Responses to “Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises”

  1. garyd Says:

    Zappo. Thanks for sharing this routine. I actually have a guy do a “dynamic warmup” before we workout in the gym. Maybe I can incorporate some of these (we already do a couple). Bobby McGee has a little book that has some of this information in it too. I need to pick it up, but I haven’t.

  2. karlmccracken Says:

    Good reminder – I find it too easy to just head out the door. Do you have a different routine for bike-run sessions as the race season approaches?
    Karl.

  3. zappoman Says:

    Actually, for bike-run bricks I basically treat them all like race practices… I set up a little T2 at my house (or car or where ever I plan to transition) and then I just practice T2 like it was a race.

    As I’ve mentioned before, I know the guys that made the Documentary “What it Takes” about 4 world class Ironman Triathletes, and they tell me that Peter Reid ALWAYS runs after ever road cycling session he does. He basically always bricks it, even if he can only do a 3 mile run, he does it.

  4. RegiVizz Says:

    Hey, Thanks for the routine! I’ll have to incorporate these in my warm-up! (I love to skip so that should be fun! Never thought of doing that before to warm-up!)

  5. zappoman Says:

    Oh yeah, one other point… I plan to write a post about this someday in the future… but I also make a point of practicing my T1s and T2s. This is particularly good for a taper period, when you shouldn’t go out and train hard, but mentally you’re totally amped up to race. I take that energy and put it into practice transitions.

    Last year I taught myself how to do shoe-less T1s and flying mounts and dismounts on my bike for T1 and T2. I basically went out to a parking lot and practiced running up to my bike with no shoes on (shoes attached to the bike) and getting on the bike, putting on the shoes while riding away. I’d circle the parking lot, and then head back to my car, undo my shoes, slide my feet out, and practice jumping off the bike, picking the bike up and running barefoot about 20 yards… just like in a race.

    I think this gave me a significant advantage in races as my transition times are consistently top 10.

  6. noelryan Says:

    Thanks for posting this routine. I normally stretch indoors before I run, and then run straight from my front door.

    I have to say, though, doing the dynamic stretches as I walk past all my neighbours windows will feel odd – I bet they look odd!! Especially the skipping!

  7. halfawake Says:

    When I ran track/XC we called this ‘Active Stretching… You might get some more hits if you search for that.

    My impression now is that the dynamic warm ups are more important than static stretching (I think static stretching is more important afterwards, which is, of course, when you’re in a rush and don’t want to sit around :-)).

  8. Alexwebmaster Says:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  9. usman hafeez Says:

    this very true and beneficial starting warm up exercise thanx alote such a nice warming up training

  10. M Taylor Says:

    Sounds like a great routine, although I never like heel walking..

    http://www.exerciseballscompare.com

  11. jessemcfarland Says:

    Great work. To simplize it for a more general workout…(other than running). Try this warm up as well. http://blog.mcfarlandtraining.com/2011/08/05/jesses-dynamic-warm-up

  12. best treadmill for running Says:

    best treadmill for running…

    […]Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises « ZappoMan.wordpress.com – Fitness Blog[…]…

  13. Improve Your Health Says:

    Improve Your Health…

    […]Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises « ZappoMan.wordpress.com – Fitness Blog[…]…

  14. Scotsman Ice Machine Says:

    Scotsman Ice Machine…

    […]Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises « ZappoMan.wordpress.com – Fitness Blog[…]…

  15. Dachy Says:

    Dachy…

    […]Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises « ZappoMan.wordpress.com – Fitness Blog[…]…

  16. treadmills Says:

    treadmills…

    […]Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises « ZappoMan.wordpress.com – Fitness Blog[…]…

  17. エアジョーダン Says:

    Great web site you have here.. It’s difficult to find quality writing like yours these days. I truly appreciate people like you! Take care!!

  18. Toby Says:

    always i used to read smaller articles which as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this post which I am reading now.

  19. Karri Says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I will be waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  20. Zachary Says:

    Thanks in favor of sharing such a good thinking, paragraph is fastidious, thats why i have read it fully

  21. Nelson Says:

    If you are going for finest contents like myself, only pay a quick visit this web page all the time because it presents quality contents, thanks

  22. Jacki Says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine. Please let me know where you got your theme. Thanks a lot

  23. Madge Says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again soon.

  24. Taylor Says:

    It’s an remarkable paragraph for all the internet people; they will get advantage from it I am sure.

  25. Rosemary Says:

    %blog_comment%

  26. German Says:

    Hello to all, for the reason that I am really eager of reading this website’s post to be updated regularly. It includes good stuff.

  27. Ursula Says:

    What’s up, every time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the break of day, because i like to gain knowledge of more and more.

  28. Florence Says:

    Greate article. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog. Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  29. Kit Says:

    Hello to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this site, and your views are pleasant designed for new viewers.

  30. Van Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

  31. Justine Says:

    Thanks for finally talking about >Dynamic Warm-Up: Pre-running Exercises | ZappoMan.wordpress.com <Liked it!

  32. Melina Says:

    Hi! I know this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask. Does operating a well-established website such as yours take a massive amount work? I’m completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  33. bobVoge Says:

    Newborn buggies are actually toddler carriages that happens to be produced designed for children. However these are highly suitable and is accustomed to use infant’s out your front door. Toddler pushchairs are superior to toddler cots or even toddler slings since you do not need to consider your baby approximately. Newborn buggies permit you to get yourself a go walking together with child appreciate the new surroundings while not having to bear great newly born baby near.

    There are many forms of infant strollers widely available already in the market. An experience a number of they will are inclined to mix up users. Nonetheless simply having a couple items on your mind can assist you make the preference, looking out this site: коляски

    While you are examine not to mention pondering infant buggies, just be sure to choose the one which can be diverse and they are converted to a buggy in the event the newborn is ready to sit down. It’s likely to get very unlikely determine period little one in child stroller after he is able to be seated. He can certainly plan to sit straight up viewing the game inside area or possibly on the streets. rapid There’s newborn baby strollers who are 3-in-1 providers can be employed mainly because have cots as well as the car seats very. For all those choosing those newly born baby strollers, ensure you use the full features of the merchandise by almost all pays additionally, the software program technique to be a child carseat and then a child place to sleep. Most of these babe pushchairs tend to be evidently going to costlier versus the standalone kid strollers however they last for long periods in addition to deliver an array of purposed overly. instruction Choosing newly born baby pushchairs that contain launderable cloth fabric is absolutely essential considering stains might feasibly arise usually. Being ready to completely clean journey whole or maybe the grease which has been toppled above is known as a requirement. instant Various facets of kid strollers that you can think about can be varied added wheels for the purpose of consistency, braking, canopy panels designed for protection from the sun, collapsing instrument to get hassle-free being mobile in addition to a padding fit with regard to consolation. Mel delights in store shopping not to mention is currently writing relating to babe buggies amongst various buying affiliated tips.

  34. peteRhiz Says:

    Fotografowanie czyjąś ponadplanowy dzienna pora jestabsolutny zaszczyt jak i również powinni być sądzone niesłychanie ładnie. Rozumie się samo przez się, żemłodzi pozostawili planowaniu ulubiony dzienna pora na kilometrowy czas, jeżeli nie tygodni, miesięcy, jeśliby nie miesięcy w roku kalendarzowym. Jak fotografik trzeba podobnie jak wyczuć intuicją podejście zdjęciowych ślubu wprzódy, iżby pokazać nabywcom, że jesteś załatwiony także doświadczony, jednak też złagodzić wszelkie zmartwienia użytkownicy podołali posiadać wcześniej. Zapoznaj się ppe listą kontrolną fotografa natomiast agenda, jakie ulżą Ci udźwignąć szereg, zaś na wskazania ppe pewnych sesji zdjęciowych ślubnych.

    Jest możliwe, iż narzeczeni pozostaną szukać swych usług seo miesięcy z wyprzedzeniem. Winna owe krokiem się nie ruszyć odkąd kilku miesięcy aż do ponadroku. Znajduje się to pierwszy czucie spośród użytkownikami, tudzież to jest, gdy powinno się natknąć się w pojedynkę, by omówić swej potrzeby fotce ślubnej. W tym czasie jest dozwolone im dowieść swoje kolekcja, oraz pomyśleć wszystkie promocyjne pęki, które mają w tym okresie. Można podobnie porozmawiać wypłaty irodzaje owoców, jakie oferujesz, http://www.beautylight.com.pl/

    W poniższym czasie powinno się postarać się umowę a faceci parafowania. Będziesz i roją uzbierać pięcdziesięciu procent przymocowanie, jaki zarezerwuje własne nadzwyczajne dni polska partia ekologiczna tobą. Kiedy posiadasz podpisaną umowę a przechowanie, owo błyskotliwy, tak aby rozważyć szczegóły wydarzenia, takie gdy lokalizacja, poziom uczestników, jak dużo unieważnień rodzinnych wypatruje. Będziesz i roją, tak aby powyjaśniać terminy imprezy wobec fotografii aprobują podejmowane, iżby przekazać swoim typkom co niektóre dokładne wyglądania.

    Po głównym posłuchaniu, ratyfikowania umowy jak i również podchodzenia kaucji, stanie się w przyszłości pożądasz być w kontakcie ze swoimi konsumentami. Coś koło tego księżyca przed imprezą, będziemy chcieli, aby poumawiać się z interesantami. W poniższym okresie będziemy chcieli, tak aby przekonać się, że wszystkie doniesienia, jakie umożliwiają poprawne, dodatkowo budzić wspomnienia facetom o dokładne czekania dawny przedtem omawiane. Siedem dni zanim ślubem zostanie chciał połączyć się spośród konsumentów, aby przekonać się wsio stoi.

    Przedtem ślubem będziemy pragnęli, tak aby upewnić się każde zaopatrzenia widnieje gotów a także pracowity. Potrafi owe mieścić wprowadzanie danych wszystkich kamer i baterii, pranie jakichkolwiek obiektywów od początku do końca tudzież ładowania każdego teczki krętacz ppe jakichkolwiek własnych korzystnych narzędzi. Przeszukać wszystkie informacjenocy tudzież szarpnąć się resztę godziwy noce.

    Po tej osi okresu luźno wesprze Ci się szykować przed czasem do sesji zdjęciowej weselnej. Będzie białogłowa także ulżyć ukoić własnych użytkowników martwi się, artykułując im, iż jest rasowy a uzyskany. Zachciej poszukiwaniaśledzić produkt na sportowej osi czasu ślubu gwoli fotografów.

  35. atp muscle mass builder Says:

    Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend
    your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account helped me a acceptable deal. I were a little bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast offered vivid transparent idea

  36. steve reeves diet Says:

    Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same subjects?

    Thanks a ton!

  37. Rev Test No2 Maximus Says:

    We stumbled over here from a different website and thought
    I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to checking out your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

