Week 1 Report


Week 1 - Workout Distribution by DisciplineWeek 1 of the 2007 Calendar year, ok we’ll call it a season, has passed. I’ve set up some big goals for myself, so I want to get started off right. This is still very early in my season/training schedule, I’m 36 weeks away from my big “A” race, namely my Ironman for the year. Mostly right now, I’m focused on working out regularly, being more disciplined about the fitness areas I don’t naturally gravitate to, and trying to get into a steady routine. Here’s my week 1 status report.

My goal “workout time” for the week was 10 hours. I haven’t set up specific time or distance goals for any of the 5 disciplines I work on (bike, swim, run, strength, and flexibility), so I am mostly operating on a do whatever I feel like doing routine; with a few specific constraints.

Strength Training — 3.5 hours – As I’ve discussed elsewhere in my blog, I really don’t like strength training, and subsequently, it wasn’t something I did at all regularly last year. According to my log book I did 22 hours total of strength training last year. It looks like I was going pretty strong from weeks 3-8, then I fell of came back in a small spurt around late June/early July, and then I dropped off until the last 2 weeks of the year… which really were part of my now current kick of trying to get more focused on strength training.

So, with that backdrop, I think 2007 is already starting out to be a much better year for strength training. My goal is to do some form of strength training every day for the first 90 days of the year. So far this year, I have done “7 sessions” of my repeating 3 part split routine. I do a chest/shoulders day (Dumbbell Press, Dumbbell Flies, Shoulder Press, and Arnold Press); an arms day (Preacher Curls, “21’s”, Dips, Triceps Pull Downs, Seated Cable Rows, Lat Pull Downs); and a leg day (Squats, Lunges, Leg Press).

For the chest/shoulders and arms day, I can do these workouts at home with my dumbbells and bench, or go to the gym and use their equipment. I just substitute a couple of the exercises. The leg day, I pretty much have to do at the gym. Although I guess I could just do squats and lunges and call it a day. I do 4 sets of 8 reps for the leg exercises, and 3 sets of 12 reps for the rest; except 21’s which have ‘reps’ built in to the 3 sets. Basically 21’s are a barbell bicep curl that I do 7 reps of the lower half of a curl, 7 reps of an upper half curl, and 7 reps of a full curl.

I did miss my arms session on Thursday, and so I made it up with my legs session on Friday. But since I rode my fixed wheel/single speed bike for 40 miles that day I am going to say I did at least some resistance training that day too.

Swimming — 1.67 hours – I also really want to get into the habit of swimming more. Last year, my only swimming goal was to survive the swim legs of all my triathlons… and prep to do the 2.4 mile open water swim in my Ironman. I had a really bad sprint triathlon (my second) that I did in June last year, where I got so freaked out in my wetsuit that I ended up swimming the whole half mile on my back. Mind you, I don’t mean I did the back stroke… I mean, I was floating on my back, kicking my legs… It was ridiculous! But it gave me a challenge to overcome, and I eventually beat it, and made it to my Ironman.

This year, I want to get a little faster on my swim. I consistently swim about a 40min/mile. I swam my Ironman 36.25min/mile and I’d like to try to move that to more like 30-34min/mile. Since I only swam about 56 hours last year, and averaged less than 1.5 hours/week, I am hopeful that I have room to improve by simply spending more time swimming. I’ve committed to swimming at least 3 times a week. I did accomplish this goal this week, and today I even swam my first “mile” for the year.

Flexibility– 1.75 hours – I also need to be more disciplined about stretching. Intellectually, I understand this completely… but again, this is something I just wasn’t in the habit of doing. This year, I have a goal of doing some form of flexibility training every day. So far, it’s been a simple little 15minute routine I’ve been doing before going to bed: Calves, Hip Flexors, Quads, Groin, Hamstrings, IT-band, Shoulders, Neck, Arms. So far, so good, first week on track.

Running– 0 hours – No running yet this week, I didn’t get my Orthotics till late Friday, and they don’t want me running until mid next week. I can’t wait! 

Cycle– 4 hours – This one’s easy. I would love to ride my bike everywhere I go. I can’t get enough cycling. This week felt like a pretty  light week. I wanted to hit the road a couple times, but got caught up working on projects, and lost track of time. I only rode 68 miles this week; all on the open road. So, my buddy Phil is ahead of me for miles for the whole first week of the year.  I may have to drop another couple 40 mile days in next week just to catch up to him. 😉

The grand total for exercise hours for the week was 10.92 hours. The distribution is definitely a little bit off. This strength training every day even at only about 30minutes per session is taking a lot more time than I expected. I’m sure that I’m going a little slower than I should be; but I guess I’m still getting used to the routine. You might think it odd to count the time for strength and flexibility, but I figure that if I want to stay dedicated to it, it will help if I reward myself with “gold stars”… and putting time in my log book is a little gold star for me.

Next week, I will start to run again, and try to save some time on the strength training routines. All in all, I feel like it s a good start to the year.

3 Responses to “Week 1 Report”

  1. RegiVizz Says:

    Great start! Only 51 more weeks in the year! 🙂

  2. Nick Says:

    Zappo Man!

    Go get ’em big fella.

    Nick

  3. rayk Says:

    One step at a time…knock’em dead!

Leave a Reply

