T -5 Days


I have 5 days left in the year, unfortunately I couldn’t ride my bike today.  But after getting a couple votes from you guys that Spin class miles count, I decided to count them from 20mph. That means I still need 157 miles to reach my 5,000 mile goal.

No cycling today, but I had a pretty big day otherwise, which gives a second reason for the name of this post. I quit my job about a month ago, and my last official day is 12/31. Yep, come Monday I am a free man… I will take some time off, reconnect with the family, spend some extra hours riding and running out on the open road. So today, I was at the office for the third to last day, packing up… I would have ridden in, but I couldn’t really bring home boxes of books on my bike.

Bike Train - 7 Hills of Kirkland, May 2005So here’s the plan… tomorrow and Friday I will ride my bike the long way to and from work. This will add another 100 miles, leaving me only 57 miles for the weekend. This will be no problem. If I head out for 50 miles on Saturday morning… I can even finish my year with a leisurely 7 mile ride with the family in tow.

That’s the plan… and I’m sticking to it.

5 Responses to “T -5 Days”

  1. zappoman Says:

    Update from the road… Literaly… From the road where I have crashed twice on ice. I have a strict two crash limit. So I called my buddy Phil to come pick me up. But I got 29 miles in.

  2. shebaduhkitty Says:

    It is icey out there…. plenty of cars were crashing too. I hope you didn’t get too hurt and glad you played it safe and called a friend. You really sound so driven sometimes I think you are insane!

    I went to the gym yesterday and did a weights class (kinda like aerobics circut training with dumbbells) only a little sore today, I did the same class last week. I go in tomorrow for a refresher on my training program with the trainer. Your daily postings are helping me to be more motivated to get MY butt in gear.

    love ya! stay safe!

  3. zappoman Says:

    Yes… you’re not the only one who thinks I’m crazy… but being that you’re my sister, people probably assume you have a more enlightened view of whether or not I am crazy. 😉

    I actually plan to post today on whether or not I am crazy… 😉

    There are other people out there like Dean Karnazes who runs 20-40 miles per day!!!!

    Now, that is crazy!

  4. My Friends Often Call Me Crazy… « ZappoMan - Fitness Blog Says:

    […] My sister read my post (from the road after the second crash), and she too hypothesized that I may be crazy… “You really sound so driven sometimes I think you are insane!” […]

  5. ZappoMan - Fitness Blog : Thoughts on Fitness, Health, Diet, Marathons, Triathlons, and Ironman by Brad Hefta-Gaub » My Friends Often Call Me Crazy… Says:

    […] my post (from the road after the second crash), and she too hypothesized that I may be crazy… “You really sound so driven sometimes I think you are insane!” I’ve done a lot of crazy things this year in endurance sports…. but am I as crazy as […]

Leave a Reply

