Visiting Sports Rehab Clinic, and a funny race report…


Tailor’s BunionToday I got fitted for orthotics at the Eastside Sports Rehab clinic. I learned a few things about my feet. Apparently I have “good arches”,not really high arches, and certainly not flat feet… but not problematically high arches. This explains why until taking on distance running, I never had any real problems with my feet, legs, hips, etc. According to the physical therapist that worked on my fitting, I probably would never had had a problem if I hadn’t started running. Oy!

Also, interestingly, my pinky toe doesn’t touch the ground, at least that’s what it looked like from my ink blot foot prints. Apparently all the weight that should be absorbed by my small toe is being handled by the outer edge of my foot. Apparently this creates a “tailor’s bunion”, also called a bunionette,  which is an enlargement of the fifth metatarsal bone at the base of the little toe…

Often a tailor’s bunion is caused by an inherited faulty mechanical structure of the foot. In these cases, changes occur in the foot’s bony framework that result in the development of an enlargement. The fifth metatarsal bone starts to protrude outward, while the little toe moves inward.

This also makes my feet a little wider than normal (and interestingly enough, this is where my running shoes have been wearing out).

Also, apparently I land much more “forcefully” on my heel than most runners. At least that is the opinion of the PT examining me. Also she says my hips don’t move very much when I run. I have no idea what all of this means, but apparently these observations along with years of research and modern science will be magically crafted into the perfect shoe insert for me. And the rest of my life will be injury free. Right! 😉

Oh, I promised a funny race report… here you go! I love it. Not only did Morten break through his 5k PR, but he also entertained the crowd in the process! Congratulations to Morten on his recent personal record!

One Response to “Visiting Sports Rehab Clinic, and a funny race report…”

  1. Morten Brudvik Says:

    Very nice blog you have going here. Thanks for for the comment on my blog. I guess the moral of the story is that you are better off never using a biking helmet. *Cough!* 🙂

Leave a Reply

