Yeah! I rode my bike today!


Well, I have finally decided my heel is healed enough to ride my bike on the open road. So today I went for a nice short (25 mile) bike ride on my new-ish single speed fixed wheel bike.

We had huge wind storm last night here in Seattle, and so my normal riding trail (the Burke Gilman Trail) was a real mess with lots of uprooted trees and branches everywhere. But it was so much fun to finally get out again, that I didn’t mind the mess. I just cruised along enjoying the splendor that is the great outdoors!

I had a great time for several reasons…

  1. I love to ride!
  2. I have had cabin fever since my stress fracture.
  3. I love this new bike… it’s a really cool experience riding single speed fixed wheel. It’s hard to explain if you’ve never experienced it. And honestly I don’t know why it’s so much fun… maybe it’s because you have to keep pedalling to keep the bike moving so you have this connectedness to the bike and the road. Or maybe it’s because it takes you back to that old single speed you had when you first learned to ride a bike. Either way, it’s just a hell of a lot of fun.
  4. As I mentioned there was a big wind storm last night, and so I felt really alive to be out in nature.

I’m really looking forward to doing more training rides on this bike. It’s got a relatively small (low) gear which is a must for hills since there’s no downshifting… and as a result you still get a solid workout in hill climbs. Plus since it’s fixed wheel, and you have to keep pedalling, I’m getting a really good forced high cadence workout on flats and downhills. I expect all of this to make a significant improvement in my already strong cycle split for my Ironman next year.

Anyway, it’s not the same as getting out and running… but at least I got some exercise!

One Response to “Yeah! I rode my bike today!”

  1. fubarbicycleproducts Says:

    sounds like your having fun.. enjoy your bike and be safe!!

Leave a Reply

