Searching for “calcaneus”?


Calcaneus BoneWordPress is pretty cool. I have to say, it kicks blogger’s butt; not that I’m trying to start a religious battle or anything. I love the blogroll. I really love Tag-Surfer. And I think the dashboard and blog-stats we get are also pretty cool.

Tonight I discovered that someone got to my site by searching for “calcaneus”. I hope whoever got there actually found something they were interested in.

I’m actually in the process of setting up my own install of WordPress to run on my own server. I am kinda curious to play around with some features that are limited by the hosted version. I’d like to add some slightly more powerful analytics, and play around with some more HTML/JavaScript tools that I can’t add without building my own theme.

Anyway, I guess it’s hard to file this post under fitness, running, marathons, triathlon, etc… but I hope that as I play around more with wordpress, I’ll find even better ways to get the word out about fitness and how it changed my life.

Oh yeah… my calcaneus stress fracture is feeling much better. I’m far from 100%, and I surely can’t run yet. But I’m off my crutches, and I don’t even need my boot all of the time.

4 Responses to “Searching for “calcaneus”?”

  1. noelryan Says:

    I have had something similar with people finding my blog – I have had couple of hits on my site from people searching for “24 hour gym London”.

    I knew I wasn’t the only one that wanted access to a 24 hour gym. You don’t know how lucky you are Brad!

  2. Recent Searches « ZappoMan - Fitness Blog Says:

    […] The last time I posted about searches, noelryan mentioned that people were landing on his blog searching for 24 hour gyms in London. How are people getting to your blog? Are they finding what they are looking for? If you landed here, did you find what you were looking for? Let me know. Here is a list of recent searches that landed people on my blog (grouped by me into general categories).  spin class running a spin class stress fractures spinning “calcaneus stress fracture” boot “stress fracture” hip calcaneus tibial stress fracture and training for running stress fracture marathon training stress fracture injury ibuprofen AND marathon racing seattle marathon 2006 seattle marathon chip times seattle marathon walk  […]

  3. Dude Says:

    Yeah, I actually found your blog searching on calcaneal stress fracture.

    I’m a rock climber in Joshua Tree trying to self-diagnose a very sore heel incurred when jumping down about 6′ onto a rock slab and landing on one heel. Not your typical overuse type stress fracture, but symptomatically it is presenting as one…particualrly the pain under lateral compression.

  4. zappoman Says:

    Hey Rock Climber… Yeah, it does sound like you got a stress fracture from your fall/jump. I actually found a link on the web that described this version of the injury from falling off a ladder. So I am not surprised by your version of events.

    For what it’s worth I’ve been seeing a lot more activity on this post lately, so I think I’m going to try to write a page where I collect a lot of my notes on my injury.

    For what it’s worth, I think I’m back to 100% and ready to run again. I did some weight baring strength training with my legs this morning (squats, lunges, and leg press), and I have no residual pain. Just waiting to get my orthotics before I run so that I don’t re-injure myself.

    Good luck on your recovery!

Leave a Reply

