My New Bike


Have you gone fixed yet? Have you ever flip/flopped?

Well, it’s the new trend in training… at least that’s what I’ve heard. Apparently several bike manufactures agree, as there is a new crop of single speed flip/flop fixed/free wheel training/commuter bikes coming on the market.

Redline 9-2-5

What is he talking about? Well, have you ever noticed those bike messangers flying past you on a busy street and wondered why they have no gear shifters and often no brakes? They are riding a single speed fixed wheel bike. Some people call them track bikes, since historically, this is where these bikes started.

The the training advantage to these bikes is twofold. First of all with only one speed (one chain ring in the front, and one cog in the back) you can’t “whimp out” and shift down to go up the hill. Your only choice is to push it. You’ve got to use your muscles baby.

The second advantage with a fixed wheel is that you also can’t coast. What? Yep, that’s right, you have to always keep those legs moving. If your legs aren’t moving, the back wheel isn’t moving. Kind of like a weighted wheel on most spin class bikes. This means that even going down hill or on a flat, you must keep your legs moving and muscles working.

I bought my bike about a week ago, and so far I’ve put about 50 miles on it. Actually, that’s a pretty low volume week for me, but I’ve been focused on my running lately.

The most adventurous I’ve been so far is to ride this fixed wheel bike on my 24 mile commute to work. This is particularly bold when you consider that I have 3 good sized hills totally about 1000 ft of elevation gain along the way.

2 Responses to “My New Bike”

  1. Another great ride tonight… « ZappoMan - Fitness Blog Says:

    […] Tonight’s ride was another ride on my single speed fixed wheel. I did 26 miles in a little of 90 minutes. 17 mph is a pretty solid pace consider it was dark, and I’m riding single speed. I did about 1000 ft of ascent. pretty flat, but I had a couple of solid little hills to push up. […]

  2. Mike Says:

    Cool Post,

    You know, I’m actually kind of new to “competitive cycling” so to speak. I’ve known how to ride a bike for years, but I always rode for recreational purposes. But not too long ago I made some new friends who race competitively, and they have convinced me to try it out. Before I do though, I want to get the right kind of bike. I don’t think the one I have now is appropriate for racing or cycle tourneys. You seem to know a lot about bikes, so I was wondering if you could tell me what type of bike I should get, and what to look for when I’m comparing models. I don’t want to spend TOO much money, but I don’t mind spending a little if I know I’m getting a good product in return. I did some looking around online and I found some good guides, like this one (www.dealsdepot.com.au/a65/Finding-the-Best-Mountain-Bike/article_info.html), but that one seems more geared towards Mountain Bikes. I think what I need is a racing bike. Do you know of any similar guides or articles that focus exclusively on racing cycles? If you I would greatly appreciate it if you could point me in the right direction. I want to be as informed as possible before making my purchase. If you have any other tips or advice to share, I would greatly appreciate that as well. Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to give.

Leave a Reply

