I made it: 5,000 miles!


As promised, the family and I went out of our final bike ride of the year. Aunt Cynthia, Mom, Saffron, and Zola joined Dad for his final ride to reach 5,000 miles for the year.

Aunt Cynthia joins us for the ride to 5,000 miles.   Saffron, Zola, and Dad.   Dad pulling Zola across the 5,000 mile mark for the year.   After the 5,000 mile mark! Hefta-Gaub Family celebrate the milestone.

Last year I rode well over 5,000 road miles. But this year, I took up triathlon, trained for an Ironman, and discovered how much fun Spin class could be.  The result was that I was off my pace to achieve 5,000 cycle miles this year. Realizing this last week, I decided to make one final push to pile on the miles for the calendar year.

2006 Weekly Cycling Miles

After taking feedback from all of you readers, that counting Spin class miles was a fair thing to do for reaching this milestone, and pouring on some extra miles this past week, I had only 3 miles to go to cross the 5,000 mile mark for the year. So the plan was to take the family out for a nice leisurely ride down the Burke Gilman trail from our house out a couple miles and back. Maybe we’d make it to Mathew’s Beach Park so the kids could play on the swings and slides.

Aunt Cynthia decided she wanted to join us for the ride, and Zola was very excited about riding with Cynthia! So around noon this morning we all loaded up the two Trek 7100 hybrids, my new Redline 925 fixed single speed, and two half/trailer-bikes. The original plan was for Dad to pull Saffron, Cynthia to pull Zola, and Mom to ride shotgun. Things almost worked out as planned.

We had to rent an extra half bike from one of our local bike shops. Recycled Cycles is a cool shop in Seattle which has a bit of a “bike messenger click” feel to it. You will regularly see staff members heading up the monthly critical mass rides downtown. They also sponsor a pretty serious criterion cycle team and are the premier shop for used cycle parts in Seattle. They also happen to be about a mile from our house and offer bike rentals, and fortunately half-bike rentals.

After setting up the bikes we headed out. Only to get about 15 feet before realizing there was a problem. Apparently the half-bike we rented had an unusual connection bracket that didn’t quite fit on the seat post of the Trek hybrid. We ended up messing around with it, and after stopping several times on the trail in the first half mile of our journey, we realized we were going to have to reconfigure all the bikes. We eventually settled on Dad pulling Zola on the rented half-bike, Mom pulling Saffron on our half-bike, and Cynthia riding along solo. Big thanks to the random cyclist who stopped to lend us a 4mm Allen-wrench to make some on-the-fly changes to the setup.

Once we got to 3 miles out, we stopped and posed for the obligatory photo shoot. Mathew’s Beach was still another 4 miles away, which meant a 14 mile round trip. In retrospect, this was more that Mom and Aunt Cynthia really wanted to bite off. So we kept going for another half mile and turned around, making the total trip 7 miles.

When it was all said and done, 2006 was a great year for fitness. I trained over 492 hours for the year. I completed my first Ironman, my first Marathon, I had a great year of Cycling, and it was great to cap it off with the thing I love most of all, spending time with my Family. Here’s to 2006, and hope that 2007 is even better!

Chart of 2006 Weekly Training

 

 

 

10 Responses to “I made it: 5,000 miles!”

  1. shebaduhkitty Says:

    my bottom still hurts….

  2. catherineneal2006 Says:

    awesome job!

  3. philsabin Says:

    That is awesome. The most I have ever done is 3,800 in a year. I am not crazy enough to try and take you on in a miles challenge, but let it be known – I will beat my own record in 2007!!!

  4. noelryan Says:

    Well done Brad!! Great that the whole family were able to join you in completing this challenge too.

    Will you beat 5000 miles this year?

  5. themiddlemanager Says:

    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. bettehall Says:

    “I completed my first Ironman, my first Marathon, I had a great year of Cycling, and it was great to cap it off with the thing I love most of all, spending time with my Family.”

    Great job on the Ironman, marathon, and making your 5000 mile goal!

    I admire a family man. Love the photos.

  7. Back again - some cathcing up to do! « Get To The Point Says:

    [...] thing I do have to get off my chest right now though is to congratulate El ZappoMan on his astonishing 5,000 bike miles last year.  This is what I like – people setting alarmingly scary goals, ad then achieving them by [...]

  8. Chris Says:

    I have made this goa for myself this next year. Wanted to ask how you credirted(figure out the mileage) for spinning? I live in Denver Colorado and it is allmost impossible to cycle outside with ethe ice and snow.
    Thankyou! Congratulations!

  9. zappoman Says:

    Chris,

    I think I decided to credit my spin miles at 20mph.

    Btw, you should check out http://sweat365.com it’s a project that we’ve put together that includes an training logbook integrated with your blog. Plus, that’s where my blog lives now.

  10. JDay Says:

    Hey, if you are into contests there is a great contest on YouTube for Valentines Day. The contest is to create a video for the holiday. Actually its two contests, one is to make a video talking about your great love and the second is to actually do an online video proposal called “Will You Marry Me?” Here’s the URL http://www.youtube.com/greatestlovestories?cm_cid=twb8. Right now there are very few entries so you might have a good shot at winning.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

