Pouring it on!


Weather Forecast - Seattle - Last 6 Days of 2006

 I will admit it. I am a little bit competitive. The funny thing is, I am probably more competitive with myself than I am with other people. Don’t get me wrong, I love a duel! I love to take someone or some people on in a challenge…. but I also push myself… to compete against… me.

So you shouldn’t be surprised to hear that this 5,000 mile thing has been eating at me. I figure I have six days left in 2006. So I am going to make the most of it. I rode 50miles on Christmas Eve morning. My family sent me off with a couple free hours as an early Christmas present. Today, I rode in the longerish way to work: 30 miles.  Oh, did I mention it is pouring rain here in Seattle today. In fact the forecast calls for rain showers for most of the rest of the year.

With my 30 soaking wet mikes this morning, I am 80 miles away from 4,000 road miles. So of course, I have to go for it. I have to cross at least 4,000 miles. Now, if I give myself credit for 20 miles for every hour of spin class, then I’d be at 4,818 miles counting these spin class credits… and cycling another 182 miles in the next 6 days it totally doable… right!

So, what do you all think? Is it cheating to count those spin class miles? I mean, my legs were moving! Heck, considering how much effort I give in those classes, it’s definitely more of a workout then 1 hour on the road. Can I count them? What do you say?

3 Responses to “Pouring it on!”

  1. zappoman Says:

    After posting this, I rode my bike home 25 miles… and boy did I get soaked. I felt like I went scuba diving I was so wet. ;)

    I heard on the radio this morning that we set a record for the day by almost a quarter of an inch of rain. It also snowed up in the hills.

  2. grinnbearit Says:

    If your conscience is clear counting spin class miles, then i’d say go for it. It’s all in the name of fitness and encourages the ultimate goal anyway, right? I would count them without a second thought if i were you.

  3. karlmccracken Says:

    Hi – In my book, spinning classes count DOUBLE! Not only are you doing the physical thing, but the mindless tedium of a stationary bike means that you’re training your brain for endurance – essential on race day! ;-)

    That’s why I just can’t do spinning classes, treadmills, or all the other indoor stuff (pool time doesn’t seem to bother me though – odd). Give me the great outdoors in the Northumberland monsoon season any day.

    So go for it. With the 25 miles on the way home today, you’ve only another 157 to go.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

